Ry Cooder is the recipient of the Montreal Jazz Festival Spirit Award

This year, the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal presented by TD Bank Group in collaboration with Rio Tinto is proud to give the Montreal Jazz Festival Spirit Award to Ry Cooder. The award was presented to him yesterday night at 8:45 p.m., on the Théâtre Maisonneuve stage, by André Ménard, Vice-President and Cofounder of the Festival.

Ry Cooder will be the tenth artist to receive the Montreal Jazz Festival Spirit Award. Created specially on the occasion of the 27th edition of the Festival, in 2006, this special award underlines a popular artist’s extraordinary contribution to the musical world.

For nearly 50 years, the immense scope and influence of Ry Cooder’s music has been felt as much, or more than heard. As a master musician, producer, songwriter, the California native has explored music and culture from across the country and around the world. Inspired by many genres, Ry Cooder has made his mark at the confluence of influences, countries and musical legacies. Due to its size and eclecticism, it would be impossible to summarize the complete work of the guitarist, but among one of his many projects, we can note the sublime Chavez Ravine, where for three and a half years, the artist compulsively inventoried all the music of the Chicana community (Mexicans emigrated to the United States), and in this case, those of Los Angeles, his hometown. Constantly signing rich and varied creations with sometimes unexpected collaborations - He was the one who revealed to the world the mythical Cuban group Buena Vista Social Club in a context of the end of the cold war - and mythical soundtracks like Paris Texas, he nevertheless remains an engaged and deeply humanist artist, just like his latest album, The Prodigal Son, which reveals a declining America.

In addition to that, the Rolling Stone magazine ranked him as one of the 10 greatest guitarists of all time.

As recipient of the Montreal Jazz Festival Spirit Award, Ry Cooder follows in the footsteps of Brian Wilson (2016), Elvis Costello (2014), James Taylor (2012), Robert Plant (2011), Smokey Robinson (2010) Stevie Wonder (2009), Leonard Cohen (2008), Bob Dylan (2007) and Paul Simon (2006).

View all Festival Awards