Buika receives the Antionio Carlos Jobim Award

Spanish diva Buika recieved the Antionio Carlos Jobim Award today. The trophy was presented to her by André Ménard, co-founder, during the artist’s concert in Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts.

Considered one of the singular vocalists on the current Spanish music scene, Concha Buika brings a disarming charisma and deep intensity to her fiery soul music, deeply rooted in flamenco and drawing inspiration from jazz, Afrobeat and pop. Born to Equatoguinean parents in the poorest neighbourhoods of Majorca, the self-taught singer grew up among gypsies and their music, drawing attention for her husky, powerful voice, untamed spirit and wonderful fusion style. After collaborating on the Mestizüo album in 2000, she made her solo debut with Buika, hailed by critics in 2005. She landed on the international radar in 2007 with the album Mi Niña Lola, winning a Latin Grammy Award and earning a gold album in Spain. Fame then came swiftly: the singer moved to Miami, collaborated with Chucho Valdés on El Ultimo Trago in 2009 (a tribute to legendary Mexican singer Chavela Vargas) and Pat Metheny. After Se Me Hizo Facil in 2010, she worked with filmmaker Pedro Almodovar on La Piel que habito in 2011, also releasing En Mi Piel that same year. Drawing comparisons to Nina Simone, Chavela Vargas and Cesaria Evora, she would go on to record La Noche Más Larga in 2013, featuring covers of Jacques Brel and Billie Holiday. This year, she brings her latest album Para Mí (2017) to the Festival.

Buika is the 14th recipient of the Antonio Carlos Jobim Award, created for the Festival’s 25th anniversary to honor artists distinguished in the field of world music whose influence on the evolution of jazz and cultural crossover is widely recognized. She follows in the footsteps of Lila Downs (2016), King Sunny Ade (2015), Paco de Lucía (2014, posthumous), Amadou and Mariam (2013) Emir Kusturica (2012), Youssou N’Dour (2011), Richard Bona (2010), Toots & The Maytals (2009), Gilberto Gill (2008), Angélique Kidjo (2007), Salif Keita (2006), Khaled (2005) and Ibrahim Ferrer (2004).

View all Festival Awards